Day after day it was “cat’s cradle, cat’s cradle.” Nelson would like just once for it to be “doggy go fetch.”

What is so appealing about the anthropomorphising of animals? Authors and illustrators have been doing it for years; Beatrix Potter’s “Peter Rabbit,” Arnold Lobel’s “Frog and Toad,” and A.A. Milne’s “Winnie the Pooh” are some of the best. Animals are just plain cute when they are acting like humans.

My daughter was in the hospital for a while last week and when she came home it was an occasion to celebrate. I don’t know what got into me, but I went to a local Goodwill store and bought a bunch of toddler clothes for our two dogs. Everyone laughed and laughed as they pranced about in their little outfits. The dogs loved the attention, so they didn’t care, and we really needed that bit of levity.

Hey the way I look at it, life is short, so dress up your pet and have a laugh. It’s not wrong or cruelβ€”it’s therapy!

Thank you to the friends who left the comforting messages on my last post, and Andrew…you have a heart of gold.

