Technology was always one step ahead of the Wilson family. Even though the picture was in black and white, they still broke out the marshmallows. It just looked so real!

It’s that time of year again when you can tune your television sets to the burning log, complete with crackling fire sound effects and songs of the season. When my husband was a little kid growing up in a small New York City apartment, the musical burning log, or Yule log, was an event to gather ’round the TV for. (Aw, kinda sad!) Where I came from we had actual fire places and real wood with embers and smoke. I have to admit, nowadays I do find myself tuning into the televised log over the holidays occasionally. Somehow, even though it’s not real, it still seems to give you that warm and cozy feeling. At least it’s in color.

